This image is provided for research purposes only and must not be reproduced without the prior permission of the ACT Heritage Library.
|Title/Caption: ||House at 1 Vancouver Street, Red Hill (Block 21, Section 3), Red Hill Housing Precinct, ACT Heritage Places Register|
|Photographer :||Mildenhall, William James, d 1968|
|Date taken:||ca 1926|
|Location: ||Blandfordia, Canberra|
Is part of the Federal Capital Advisory Committee and Federal Capital Commission Houses Collection
Canberra, historic buildings, houses
|Comments:||The Federal Capital Advisory Committee (FCAC) was appointed in 1921 to facilitate the move to Canberra of Parliament and the central staff of each department. The planning and housing philosophy of this Committee was influenced by the Garden City movement. In 1922 the FCAC built its first houses in Braddon (Braddon Garden City Heritage Precinct), Kingston and Yarralumla (Section 64). Some of these houses were based on designs for the Littleton Village at Lithgow which in turn had been derived from the Daceyville Garden Suburb of Sydney, designed by William Foggitt for the Housing Board of New South Wales to provide healthy affordable housing for workers. In 1923 Oakley and Parkes of Melbourne won the FCAC’s competition to design houses for senior public servants. These were built in Blandfordia, part of which is now in the Forrest Garden City Heritage Precinct. This firm was also responsible for the Prime Minister’s Lodge and Calthorpes’ House. In 1925 the Federal Capital Commission (FCC) replaced the FCAC and the decision was made to move a larger number of public servants from Melbourne to Canberra. FCC architects, Henry Maitland Rolland, John Smith Murdoch and John Hunter Kirkpatrick, then designed a number of housing types influenced by the Oakley and Parkes houses and a range of styles including the Arts and Craft Movement, Mediterranean and Californian, and Classical, Tudor and Georgian Revivals. The building of these houses began in 1925 and they can be found in the suburbs of Reid, Braddon, Ainslie, Barton and Griffith. In 1926 the FCC prepared a booklet for public servants illustrating 22 numbered cottage types. In 1930 the Department of Home Affairs, later the Department of the Interior, replaced the FCC.|